Town Government

The Town of Belhaven is governed by a Mayor and Board of Aldermen.  The Mayor serves a two year term.  The five Aldermen, three representing East End and two representing West End, are elected on staggered four year terms.

Town government is a Council - Manager form of government.  This means that the governing body employs a town manager to oversee the day to day administration.

The Board of Aldermen meet once monthly on the 2nd Monday night of each month.  The meetings are held at 6PM at the Belhaven Civic Center, 257 E. Pungo Street.

To learn more about your elected officials, visit the Town Council tab.